An average Londoner spends around an hour in the train journey to work each day.
I’m a face amidst the crowd of these trains. You will sometimes see me struggling to get in and then struggling to push myself out to reach the workplace on time. My seat on the train is almost always just by the door(If you know what I mean). There are some lucky days when I’m a little further in and someone else is leaning on the door.

It is a pain but it is a convenient pain. Everyone who lives in London knows what a blessing the transport of London is.

While on my way to work today, I was listening to some music(like every other day). My train journeys make me realise what a boon the music industry is to us. This everyday time is mostly when I’m highly appreciative of the music and the lyrics (because there is no one to talk to!)

I played the next song and it was 7 years by Lukas Graham. I had then put this track on repeat. (Well done! #lukasgraham)

You know how sometimes when things make you wonder, the lyrics made me wonder. Wonder about friends, wife, life, old age but what hit me the most was
“I hope my children come and visit, once or twice a month”

Now what’s that like? Is it the fear talking? Is it an expectation? or is it just a wish? In the fast lives we live, in the fast pace that we work, in the fast trains that we travel in, are we pausing to think about it? Does our train have a stop which leads us to our parents?

Right now my status is only of a daughter, a sister, a friend and a wife. Would I be concerned when my status changes to a “mother”? Would I want that?

I would! But do I go see my parents once or twice a month? No!

I am an expat in this ‘Expatty City’. I see my parents every 6 months or so – trying to cover up for the lost time with gifts and goodies!

Well, isn’t time the greatest gift of all?